Minutes Annual General Meeting Canadian Political Science Association 17 May 2011, Wilfirid Laurier University, Waterloo

1. President's Welcome

Professor Graham White welcomed the members and noted that the agenda and the reports were included in the conference program.

2. Approval of the Agenda

MOTION That the agenda be approved. CARRIED

3. Minutes of the previous meeting

MOTION CARRIED That the 2010 AGM Minutes be approved.

4. Business arising from the minutes

There was no business arising.

5. Report: President

Professor White reminded those in attendance that his report was attached to the agenda.

Committee Activity

Committee on Professional Ethics

Following the posting of the report on Professional Ethics on the CPSA web site and comments made on it, a Standing Committee on Ethics was created which will develop a statement of ethics for the profession and advise the Board on ways to inform and educate the membership about ethical issues. The Standing Committee is not empowered to investigate or review individual complaints about ethical breaches. The Standing Committee on Ethics comprises Ian Greene (York), Catherine Frost (McMaster) and Caroline Andrew (Ottawa).

Ad hoc Committee on Sponsorship

This committee was created to advise the Board on an appropriate policy in a changing organizational environment. Members of this committee are Robert Young (UWO), Frances Abele (Carleton), Janice Newton (York) and Patrick Fournier (Montréal).

Ad Hoc committee on non- Academic members

This committee will report to the Board on ways that the Association could better serve the needs of its non-academic members. The committee consists of Leslie Seidle (Institute for Research on Public Policy), Craig McFadyen (Government of Ontario), Danny Lepage (Government of Canada) and Stephanie Irlbacher-Fox (Fox Consulting).

CPSA Centennial

2012 marks the 100th anniversary of the Canadian Political Science Association. Planning is underway for special events at the Edmonton conference to celebrate the occasion but we also hope to be able to recognize this milestone in other ways as well.

CPSA Representation Role

The Association continues to actively represent the discipline of political science and the professional interests of Canadian political scientists on a range of issues, including SSHRC and Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences. CPSA maintains links with a number of important national and international organizations, including the Societé québécoise de science politique where Christine Rothmayr Allison represents CPSA and the International Political Science Association to which Les Pal (Carleton) is the CPSA representative and serves on its Executive Committee. Thanks to both for their work on our behalf.

A Final Word of Thanks

Professor White thanked Sally Rutherford and Michelle Hopkins at the CPSA Secretariat and then the Executive Committee, Keith Banting, Reeta Tremblay, Christine Rothmayr Allison and Genevieve Fuji Johnson. He added special thanks to Christine Rothmayr Allison for agreeing to step in to take over as Secretary-Treasurer and to Keith Banting who was always available with sage advice.

6. Report: Nominating Committee

Professor White presented the membership of the newly elected board members.

Newly elected Board members:

President-Elect:	Michael Atkinson (Saskatchewan)
Secretary-Treasurer:	Christine Rothmayr Allison (Montréal)
Directors:	Siobhan Byrne (Alberta) Donald Anton Desserud (UPEI) Pascale Dufour (Montréal) Joe Garcea (Saskatchewan) Laura B. Stephenson (Western)

Professor White thanked the nominating committee: François Rocher (Ottawa), Ian Stewart (Acadia), Lisa Young (Calgary).

7. Introduction of President Reeta Tremblay

Professor White introduced Professor Tremblay and presented her with the presidential cup.

Professor Tremblay, as President, presented Professor White with a presidential plaque and thanked him on behalf of the Board and membership.

Professor Tremblay introduced the President-Elect, Professor Michael Atkinson (Saskatchwean) and asked him to join the Executive at the front of the room.

8. Report: Secretary-Treasurer

Professor Rothmayr Allison made reference to the financial report attached to the agenda. She informed the membership that the modest 2010-2011 surplus will ensure that CPSA will be in good financial order for the Centennial year and any additional expenses incurred by the conference to be held in 2012.

She then called for the following motions:

MOTION CARRIED That the following CJPS subscription fee structure be in place for 2012: Institutions print and electronic: £89/US\$142 Institutions electronic only: £77/US\$123 Member Subscriptions remain at US\$14.00

MOTION CARRIED That McCay, Duff and Company be retained as Association auditors for the next fiscal period.

A discussion followed regarding the *CJPS* subscription fees that institutions pay to Cambridge University Press and the royalties that Cambridge then pays to CPSA. The following motion was proposed from the floor:

MOTION

CARRIED

That CPSA express the desire of members to Cambridge University Press that subscription rates be expressed in Canadian dollars.

9. Report: Director of the Ontario Legislature Internship Program

Professor Henry Jacek reported the following:

a) The program welcomed applications from recent undergraduates and graduates from across Canada. He asked members to encourage their students to apply.

b) 100 applications of very high quality were received.

c) All 10 interns chosen following the interviews accepted their internship.

d) The program has an academic component and the interns would again be presenting their research at the conference.

10. Report: Director of the Parliamentary Internship Program

Dr. Garth Williams reported the following:

a) The program has been in existence for 40 years and has had direct support from 80 M.P.s over that time.

b) The importance of the exchange with the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program as well as the exchange with the Quebec program.

c) PIP was increasing its involvement on Parliament Hill. It will participate in the Encounters with Canada programme in 2012.

e) PIP reestablished its Advisory Board in 2011 as a way to develop stronger relationships with all of its supporters and donors.

Dr. Williams thanked the CPSA members for encouraging their students to apply to the program.

11. Report: Canadian Journal of Political Science

Professor Csaba Nikolenyi gave his report for 2010-2011:

- Submissions continue to increase.
- The impact factor has increased threefold to 0.52.
- Turnaround time has increased as the submissions increase.
- He pointed out that *CJPS* is one of a few journals which has a requirement for gender parity.

Professor Tremblay presented a plaque to Csaba Nikolenyi, Editor from 2005-2011.

12. Report: 2011 Conference

Professor Debora VanNijnatten reported the following:

a) The attendance at the conference was higher than expected for a stand alone conference at approximately 675 attendees.

b) Andrea Perella deserved thanks for having put together a great team and for his excellent work in managing the conference logistics.

c) David Docherty and many others from Wilfird Laurier University provided invaluable assistance.

c) Section chairs had performed beyond expectation in developing solid sessions often with additional outside resources.

Professor Tremblay then thanked Professor VanNijnatten for her efforts and presented her with a plaque.

13. Other Business

100th Anniversary of the CPSA

Professor Tremblay asked Professor Yasmeen Abu-Laban, Programme Chair for 2012 at the University of Alberta to invite members to the conference to be held from June 13 to June 15, 2012 at the University of Alberta in Edmonton Alberta.

14. Adjournment

MOTION That the meeting be adjourned. APPROVED