Donald Smiley Prize

The Donald Smiley Prize has been established to honour the life and work of the late, distinguished, Canadian political scientist and former Association’s President, Donald V. Smiley. The prize is awarded every year. 

Rules 2024

  • The prize will be awarded to the author of the best book published in English in French in a field relating to the study of government and politics in Canada.
  • To be eligible, a book may be single-authored or multi-authored. Textbooks, edited books, collections of essays, translations and memoirs will not be considered. 
  • A book can be submitted by the author, the publisher or a member of the jury.
  • A book that has been submitted to the Donald Smiley Prize cannot be submitted to another CPSA book prize in the same year or in a subsequent year.
  • In the case of a single-authored book, the author must be a member of the CPSA in the year the book is considered for the prize (2024). In the case of a multi-authored book, at least one of the authors must be a member of the CPSA in the year the book is considered for the prize (2024). The membership fee, in either of the above cases, must be received at the CPSA Secretariat before the prize submission deadline. 
  • For the 2024 award, a book must have a copyright date of 2023.
  • The deadline for submission of books is December 10, 2023. Books published between December 11th and December 31srt are eligible, provided that members of the jury are informed of the date submission. 
  • The winner will be announced at the 2024 CPSA Conference.
  • To nominate a book, a digital version must be sent to each member of the Prize Jury (click on their names below to access their e-mail addresses) and to the CPSA Prize Team ( Subject line: DONALD SMILEY PRIZE – “BOOK TITLE” 


Canadian Political Science Association (CPSA Prizes Team)

Members of the 2024 prize jury: 

Stephanie Chouinard
Rachel Laforest
Allison McCulloch