The C.B. Macpherson Prize has been established to honour the life and work of the late, distinguished, Canadian political scientist, Crawford Brough Macpherson. The prize is awarded every two years.

Rules 2024

  • The prize will be awarded to the author of the best book published in English or in French in the field of political theory. 
  • To be eligible, a book may be single-authored or multi-authored. Textbooks, edited books, collections of essays, translations and memoirs will not be considered. 
  • A book can be submitted by the author, the publisher or a member of the jury.
  • A book that has been submitted to the C.B. Macpherson Prize cannot be submitted to another CPSA book prize in the same year or in a subsequent year.
  • In the case of a single-authored book, the author must be a member of the CPSA in the year the book is considered for the prize (2024). In the case of a multi-authored book, at least one of the authors must be a member of the CPSA in the year the book is considered for the prize. The membership fee, in either of the above cases, must be received at the CPSA Secretariat before the prize submission deadline.
  • For the 2024 award, a book must have a copyright date of 2022 or 2023.
  • The deadline for submission of books is December 10, 2023. Books published between December 11th and December 31srt are eligible, provided that members of the jury are informed of the date of submission.
  • The winner will be announced at the 2024 CPSA Conference. 
  • The winner will receive the set of e-books submitted to the CPSA for the 2024 prize.
  • To nominate a book, an electronic copy must be emailed directly to each member of the Prize Jury as indicated below and to the CPSA Prize Team (cpsaprizes@cpsa-acsp.ca). Subject line: C.B. MACPHERSON PRIZE – “BOOK TITLE”

Canadian Political Science Association (CPSA Prize Team) 

2024 Prize Jury 

Afsoun Afsahi                                    UBC

Sophie Bourgault                              Ottawa

Mojtaba Mahdavi-Ardekani            Alberta