Vincent Lemieux Prize

This biennial prize has been established in honour of the eminent political scientist Professor Vincent Lemieux of the Université Laval.


Rules 2021

• The prize will be awarded to the author of the best PhD thesis submitted at a Canadian institution, in English or in French, in any sub-field of political science, judged eminently worthy of publication in the form of a book or articles.

• Units of political science, public policy, international affairs or related fields at Canadian institutions are eligible to submit theses provided that they hold a CPSA institutional membership. In the case of interdisciplinary units, only political science theses defended in the two-year period may count toward a unit’s total nomination allotment.

• A thesis is eligible only after nomination by the unit in which it was defended.

• A unit in which five or fewer theses were defended in the two-year period may nominate one candidate. If six to ten were defended in the same period, two may be nominated. For those units with more than ten completed PhDs, three thesis may be nominated.

• Article-length theses are welcome.

• For the 2021 award, a thesis must have been defended in 2019 or 2020.

• The deadline for submission of the copies of the theses is 15 February 2021.

• The winner will be announced at the 2021 CPSA Conference.

• The winner will receive a commemorative certificate and a cheque in the amount of $1000.

• Unit Chairpersons are invited to email one e-copy of each thesis submitted for adjudication directly to each member of the Prize Jury at the e-addresses provided; a copy must also be emailed directly to the CPSA Secretariat. The emails must be clearly marked Vincent Lemieux Prize Entry. It is the Unit Chairperson’s responsibility to provide a paper copy if required by any of the jurors.

Canadian Political Science Association
Anna M. Agathangelou, York University
Marc André Bodet, Université Laval
Kathy Brock, Queen’s University